Master Points Circular Calendar Results Players / Status Bridge News Library  
Welcome to West Bengal Bridge Association.
Bridge Law
History of Bridge
Bridge Federation of India
How to Enroll
Players / Status
Bridge News
Player's Corner
+ Member Council of Sports
West Bengal
+ Regd.Under Societies Act. S/4664
+ Member Bengal Olympic
About West Bengal Bridge Association

West Bengal Bridge Association was formed in the year 1938 under the Presidency of Late Kamal Chandra De, ICS, few like minded bridge enthusiasts came together to establish the Association, when the word BRIDGE was commonly meant a structure connecting two sides of a river or road, these buoyant enthusiasts were optimist in their vision. Thereafter the game of Bridge had never taken a back seat in the state. During the passage of time the state of West Bengal produced numerous bridge players of national and international repute, to name a few are Ravi Roy, Sukho Ranjan Ghosh, Govinda Singha, Kamal Mukherjee, Sudhir Gqnguly, Kamal Roy, Late Santi Sen, Santanu Ghose, Debasish Ray, Pritish Kushari, Manas Mukherjee and many others. Most of these players have international rankings. The first Indian success in the international bridge came in 1977, all the members of the team was from Bengal namely Gora Ghosh, Govinda Singha, Sukho Ranjan Ghosh, Kamal Mukherjee, Ajay Brahmachari and Sudhir Ganguly won the Far East Championship in Manila. Thereafter the best Indian performance in the international field for the country is losing semi-finalists in 1988 at the World Team Olympiad at Venice; this team comprised three players from the state namely Kamal Mukherjee, Santanu Ghose and Debasish Ray.


Kamal Chandra De

Jamini Kumar Ganguly

Ratan Nath Dutta

Hironmoy Ghosh

Savan Ram Goenka

Sachin Bandopadhyay

Prem Chand Goenka

Dr  M N Dastur

Madhab Lal Capoor

Dr  Naba Kishore Pal

Thiri PoSow

Hem Chandra Chaturvedi

Devendra Kumar Chowdhury

Akhoy Kumar Sur

Partha Sadhan Bose

Dr  M N Dastur



Sachindra Bhusan Roy

Satya Charan Dey

Biresh Majumdar

Kamal Kumar Bose

Sukumar Bosu

Bibhuti Bhusan Biswas

Ashoke Ratan Ganguly

Mukul Chatterjee

Monoranjan Ghosh

Narendra Nath Ray

Milan Mohan Roy

Sailesh Chandra Kantha

Mukul Chatterjee

Pranab Ghosh

Arijit Guha

Copyright 2009 West Bengal Bridge Association